Stock - Riyadh skyline / Saudi skyline
GCC expats, and permanent residents of US, UK, or EU can also apply for the Saudi eVisa. Picture used for illustrative purposes. Image Credit: Bloomberg

Dubai: Yesterday (August 6), the Saudi Tourism Authority announced that Saudi Arabia has expanded the list of countries whose nationals are eligible for a Saudi eVisa or a visa on arrival.

Now, nationals from 57 countries can apply for an eVisa ahead of their trip. However, they are also eligible to receive a visa on arrival. 

The multiple-entry tourist visa is issued for a year, and allows the holder to stay in the country for up to 90 days.

Through the visa, tourists can explore Saudi Arabia, visit friends and family, or perform Umrah (this visa excludes Hajj).

New countries added to the list
1. Albania
2. Azerbaijan
3. Georgia
4. Kyrgyzstan
5. Maldives
6. South Africa
7. Tajikistan
8. Uzbekistan

Who is eligible for Saudi eVisa and visa on arrival?

According to, these are the three categories of visitors that can apply for an eVisa online or get a visa on arrival:

1. Tourists from 57 eligible countries listed below.

2. Permanent residents of the United States, United Kingdom and European Union (EU).

3. Holders of tourist or business visas from the UK, US or Schengen Area. However, this visa must have been used at least once, and should have an entry stamp from the issuing country for the holder to be eligible.

The applicant must be 18 years old. Underage applicants will need a guardian to apply for an eVisa and accompany them.

You must also keep in mind that your passport must be valid for six months to be eligible for a Saudi tourist visa.

Eligible countries for the Saudi eVisa:
North America:
1. Canada
2. United States

3. Andorra
4. Austria
5. Belgium
6. Bulgaria
7. Croatia
8. Cyprus
9. Czech Republic
10. Denmark
11. Estonia
12. Finland
13. France
14. Germany
15. Greece
16. Holland
17. Hungary
18. Iceland
19. Ireland
20. Italy
21. Latvia
22. Liechtenstein
23. Lithuania
24. Luxembourg
25. Malta
26. Monaco
27. Montenegro
28. Norway
29. Poland
30. Portugal
31. Romania
32. Russia
33. San Marino
34. Slovakia
35. Slovenia
36. Spain
37. Sweden
38. Switzerland
39. Ukraine
40. United Kingdom
41. Brunei
42. China
43. Japan
44. Kazakhstan
45. Malaysia
46. Singapore
47. South Korea

48. Australia
49. New Zealand

How do I apply?

According to Visit Saudi, there are two ways individuals eligible for the eVisa and visa on arrival can apply:

1. Before travelling – through Online eVisa platform -

2. Upon Arrival - Visa on arrival is granted upon entering Saudi Arabia through the visa offices at the Immigration Department.

It takes approximately five to 30 minutes for the eVisa to be issued.

Saudi eVisa validity and duration
As per - the eVisa will be a one-year, multiple-entry visa, allowing tourists to spend up to 90 days in the country.
For permanent residents of the UK, US and EU, the multiple or single-entry visa option is going to depend on the decision of Saudi Arabia's Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MOFA), which issues it on a case-by-case basis.

Cost for Saudi eVisa and Visa on Arrival

eVisa cost (inclusive of visa fees and medical insurace): SR535 (Dh523.83)

- Visa on Arrival Price: SR300 (Dh293).
- Medical Insurance Fees: SR180 (Dh176.24).

Total: SR480 (Dh469).

eVisa for GCC Residents

In September 2022, Saudi Arabia's Ministry of Tourism announced that residents in GCC countries are allowed to apply for a tourist eVisa and can apply for it online.

GCC residents will have to apply for the visa through the eVisa platform operated by Saudi Arabia's MOFA -

For an in-depth guide on how GCC expats can apply for a Saudi visa, click here

Do you have any questions related to the topics covered in the Living in UAE section? Write to us at