Classifieds powered by Gulf News

Al Naqbi, Singh ride to victory

Al Faresi second and last year's winner Al Hamadi fifth in boutheib endurance race

  • Prize giving
    Shaikh Hazza Bin Sultan Bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Shaikh KhalidBin Sultan Bin Zayed Al Nahyan and the winners of Image Credit: Ahmed Kutty/Gulf News
  • Prize giving
    Abdullah Rashid Mohammad Saeed Al Naqbi in action during the endurance ride.Image Credit: AHMED KUTTY/Gulf News
Gulf News

Abu Dhabi:  Abdullah Rashid Mohammad Saeed Al Naqbi of Warsan Stables, riding Blue Bonnet, won yesterday's 120km HH The President's Cup for Junior and Young Riders endurance ride at the Boutheib International Endurance Village.

Al Naqbi, who was fourth going into the final stage, unleashed a speed of over 31 km/h on his 13-year-old Blue Bonnet to win the prestigious ride for juniors from Ahmad Saeed Al Faresi.

Al Faresi, riding 13-year-old Fenwick Cadenza, was second in the third and fourth loop. He could not match the final loop speed of Al Naqbi's Blue Bonnet and had to stay content with second place.

Hamdan Mousa Mohammad Al Hamadi, who had won this ride in both 2008 and 2009, finished fifth on Lauralyn Davo, with Rashid Ahmad Al Beloushi and Ahmad Ali Al Sabri finishing ahead of him.

In the 120-km ride for Private Owners, only three riders could complete the event with Indian work rider Narayan Singh Dungar Singh at Al Ain Endurance Stables winning the event.

Singh, riding 11-year-old Paloma GB, dominated the ride and led for most of the 120km distance to complete the ride in 5 hours 17 minutes and 15 seconds.

Uruguay's Eduardo Saravis Herrara on Ylmood finished a close second to complete a 1-2 for trainer Matar Suhail Al Yabhouni while lady rider Laila Abdul Aziz Al Reda secured yet another podium finish with a third-place finish.

Results (top five) of 120km HH The President's Cup for Junior and Young Riders: Abdullah Rashid Mohammad Saeed Al Naqbi (Blue Bonnet) 4:40:45; Ahmad Saeed Mohammad Al Faresi (Fenwick Cadenza) 4:42.15; Rashid Ahmad Al Beloushi (Al Barak) 4:47.17; Ahmad Ali Al Sabri (Mahaleb du Paon) 4:51.33; Hamdan Mousa Mohammad Al Hamadi (Lauralyn Davo) 4:55.05.

Top three in 120km ride for Private Owners: Narayan Singh Dungar Singh (Paloma GB) 5:17.15; Eduardo Saravis Herrara (Ylmood) 5:17.18; Laila Abdul Aziz Al Reda (Umm Khammas) 5:21.50.


Juan Martin Del Potro holds the championship trophy after defeating Roger Federer (not pictured) in the men's finals in the BNP Paribas Open at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden.