Hyderabad: Chief Minister Y.S. Jaganmohan Reddy’s 25-member cabinet, including five deputy chief ministers, was sworn in by Andhra Pradesh governor E.S.L. Narasimhan on Saturday.

Dharmana Krishna Das from Srikakulam was the first minister to be sworn in followed by others. The five deputy chief ministers sworn in include Rajanna Dora (scheduled tribe), Mekathoti Sucharita (scheduled castes and woman), A. Nani (Kapu), Amjad Basha (minority) and K. Parthasarathy (Backward caste).

This is the first time that a state in India will have five deputy CMs.

Fulfilling his promise of ushering in inclusive and socially equitable rule Jaganmohan Reddy has ensured representation of all the major communities and regions in his ministerial team.

While the five deputy chief ministers were drawn from Scheduled castes, Scheduled tribes, Kapu, backward castes and Muslims, all the castes have found places in the cabinet.

Backward castes, who constitute the biggest part of the state population have secured seven berths as well as the post of assembly speaker.

Five ministers were from the scheduled castes and four each from Kapu and Reddy communities.

However Kammas, the traditional backbone of Telugu Desam were given only one berth though their share in population was almost equal to that of the Reddys.

Among the upper castes Kshatriyas and Vaishyas got one berth each, the same as the Muslim minority. No Brahmin was included in the cabinet but a community member was likely to become the deputy speaker.

The cabinet is a mix of experienced seniors and the energy of young and fresh faces. There are three women among the ministers.

However one surprise absence from the cabinet was film actor turned politician Roja, who was at the forefront of most agitations by the party over the last few years.

An active leader of the party she represents Nagari constituency of Chittoor district in the state assembly.

To ensure regional balance Jaganmohan Reddy has drawn his team from all the districts.

In terms of regional representation four ministers were from the north coastal Andhra, six from the Godavari belt, nine from the remaining coastal districts and six from Rayalaseema, Jagan’s own region.

The swearing in of the ministers also coincided with Jaganmohan Reddy stepping into his chambers at the state secretariat for the first time since he led his YSR Congress party to power and took oath as chief minister on May 30.

He occupied the chief ministerial chair amid the chanting of vedic mantras and hymns by the pandits.

After signing some important files, marking the beginning of the functioning of his administration, Jaganmohan Reddy addressed a meeting of senior officials.

“I am committed to provide a transparent administration to eradicate the corruption”, he said adding that he wants Andhra Pradesh to become a model and example for the entire country.

Stressing that there was no doubt about the abilities and the efficiency of the officials he urged them to use their experience in helping him in running the administration.