Classifieds powered by Gulf News

Cavalier Roy hands Daredevils first win of the season

Mumbai Indians fail to defend steep total of 194

Gulf News

Mumbai: Riding on opener Jason Roy’s (91 not out) scintillating knock against three-time champions Mumbai Indians, Delhi Daredevils registered their maiden win in the ongoing edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) at the Wankhede Stadium here on Saturday.

Chasing a mammoth 195-run target, the match went down to the final ball, however, Roy held his nerve to hand his side a thrilling victory.

Needing 11 off the final over, Roy hit a cover drive for four in the first ball followed by a six over fine leg. He however, missed the next four deliveries making it a one-run, one-ball affair.

He finally took a single off the final ball to help Delhi complete a thrilling seven-wicket win against Mumbai.

Roy forged some crucial partnerships with other batters which helped Delhi taste success in their third match of the season.

While he shared a 50-run partnership with skipper Gautam Gambhir (15) for the opening wicket, the opener also stitched a crucial 69 and 60-run partnership with Rishabh Pant (47) and Shreyas Iyer (27) respectively.

For Mumbai, left-arm spinner Krunal Pandya bagged couple of wickets for 21 runs while left-arm pacer Mustafizur Rahman scalped one for 25.

Earlier, put in to bat, Mumbai was off to a flying start as openers Suryakumar Yadav and Evin Lewis put a 102-run opening partnership. While Suryakumar smashed 53 off 32, Lewis hit a quick 28-ball 48, comprised of four six and as many boundaries.

Leggie Rahul Tewatia struck in the ninth and 11th over to get rid off the two in-form openers.

After their fall, wicketkeeper-batsman Ishan Kishan and skipper Rohit Sharma (18) shared a crucial 57-run stand for the third wicket, which helped the host to cross 150-run mark.

Apart from Ishan, who played quick-fire cameo of 23-ball 44, and Rohit, no other Mumbai batter was able to survive for long and went back cheaply to finish at 194/7 in their allotted 20 overs.

For Delhi, pacer Daniel Christian, Tewatia and pacer Trent Boult bagged two wicket apiece while spinner Shabaz Nadeem scalped one.


Brief Scores

Delhi Daredevils won by seven wickets. Mumbai Indians 194/7 (Suryakumar Yadav 53, Evin Lewis 48; Daniel Christian 2/35) vs Delhi Daredevils 195/3 (Jason Roy 91 not out, Rishabh Pant 47; Krunal Pandya 2/21).