Classifieds powered by Gulf News

IPL franchise caught short

BCCI decides to terminate contract of Kerala franchise in the Indian Premier League

N. Srinivasan
Image Credit: Supplied
N. Srinivasan
Gulf News

Dubai: It was a day of dramatic events and intrigue at the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Monday. The BCCI's annual general body meeting in Mumbai on Monday decided to terminate the contract of the Kerala franchise in the Indian Premier League (IPL) over non-payment of bank guarantees.

The Kochi Tuskers team which had never quite overcome a controversial start in the lucrative league is said to have defaulted on Rs1.56 billion (Dh117.96 million) in annual payments. The franchise had repeatedly ignored reminders from IPL authorities.

Incidentally the franchise had been bought for Rs15.50 billion and was supposed to make annual payments over a ten-year period.

New office-bearers of the BCCI were also elected during the meeting, with N. Srinivasan formally taking over as the new BCCI president after Sashank Manohar served out two terms.

No elections

There were no elections for any of the top posts with Sanjay Jagdale, who was the joint secretary of the board, taking over as the new secretary while Anurag Thakur became the new joint secretary. Ajay Shirke is the new treasurer.

Two new vice-presidents — Chitrak Mitra and Sudhir Dabir representing East and Central zones respectively — were also elected without a contest along with Arun Jaitley (North), Shivlal Yadav (South) and Niranjan Shah (West). The general body meeting also appointed Rajiv Shukla as the new chairman of the IPL. The league's governing council will now take a decision on whether to proceed with another auction for a new franchise in place of Kochi or transform the IPL into a nine-team event next season.

Amarnath selector

The tenure of Krishnamachari Srikkanth as the chairman of the national selection committee was also extended by one year. Interestingly, Mohinder Amarnath, who had once famously called Indian selectors "a bunch of jokers" during his playing days, will become North Zone's representative in the selection panel replacing Yashpal Sharma, whose tenure has ended.

Former UAE coach Abey Kuruvilla has been named chairman of the junior selection committee with former Kerala batsman K. Jayaram becoming the South Zone representative in the committee.

Former Indian captain Sunil Gavaskar has stepped down from the BCCI's technical committee. Srinivasan revealed that Sourav Ganguly will be approached to become the chairman of the technical committee.

Srinivasan, who has a reputation of being a stern administrator, announced that India will be against the use of Decision Review System (DRS) and that the DRS in its present form will not be used. He also revealed that no special inquiry will be conducted following the Indian team's debacle in England.

See also Page 39

Board meeting: Major decisions 

  • Kochi Tuskers terminated from Indian Premier League (IPL).
  • N. Srinivasan takes over as BCCI president.
  • Sanjay Jagdale becomes new secretary of the BCCI.
  • Rajiv Shukla takes charge as new chairman of the IPL.
  • K. Srikkanth's tenure as chairman of selection committee extended.
  • Mohinder Amarnath becomes new North Zone selector.
  • Abey Kuruvilla is new chairman of junior selection committee.
  • Sourav Ganguly to be approached to chair technical committee.
  • Srinivasan says India is against use of Decision Review System.
  • No inquiry into India's debacle in England.