Classifieds powered by Gulf News

Dubai Modern, ENS reign supreme

Top scorers Jeena Joyee and Rhea Kalapurra help girl's team to lift the IBS League title.

  • Jubilant members of the Emirates National School is seen with the trophy. Image Credit:Supplied picture
  • Members of the Dubai Modern High School is seen with the trophy. Image Credit:Supplied picture
Gulf News

Sharjah: Dubai Modern High School and Emirates National School, Sharjah, emerged champions in the Under-13 division of RAK Aviation 4th IBS League Basketball Tournament organised by Indian Basketball Society of UAE at Al Shaab indoor basketball court, Sharjah.

Millennium under-13 girls, who had earlier beat Dubai Modern in the league round, started confidently when Shreya Munghe and Amritha Leo started attacking Dubai Modern.

The first quarter was tough for Dubai Modern as they netted only a single basket against Millennium's five, the score being 2-10 in favour of Millennium.

In the second quarter, both team managed to score only six points each. At half time the score was 8-16, Millennium having an eight-point lead.

In the third quarter, Millennium's dependable all rounder Munge missed the target continuously and Modern's Rhea Kalappura and Nishtula converted baskets to level the score 21-21 at the end of the third quarter.

From then on, the match went neck-to-neck as the lead kept changing hands all the time. Jeena Joyee's impressive game or in the last quarter helped Modern lead 30-29 with only 30 seconds remaining. It was Leo who converted a basket to regain the lead, 30-31.

However, it was Shreeya Mahesh who scored the title winning basket for Dubai Modern finishing the game at 31-30.

Jeena with 10 points and Rhea with eight points were the to scorers for Dubai Modern.

The third place trophy for the U-13 boys went to Gee Tech Dubai and the U-13 Girls third place was annexed by DPS, Sharjah.

The Reebok awards for promising players of the tournament were bagged by Mohammad Wafi (NIMS, Sharjah), James Jacob Jose (ENS, Sharjah), Abhil Dev Arun (NIMS, Sharjah), Nihal Vinod Menon (ENS, Sharjah) and Sayooj (Gee Tech, Dubai).Results: Finals

U-13 Boys: Emirates National School-Sharjah: 57 (Nikhil Mohammad 16, James Jacob Jose 17, Nihal Vinod Menon 9, Vipin Kuriakose 7, Pampari Vikas 2, Ajith Jacob Roy 2, Shad Abdulla 2, Afsal. Hussain 2) beat New Indian Model School, Sharjah:43 ( Mohammad Wafi 20, Abhil Dev Arun 14, M. Anees 7 and Sanu Varghese 2).

U-13 Girls: Dubai Modern High School 32 (Jeena Joyee 10, Rhea Kalapura 8, Shreeya Mahesh 4, Anahita Sehgal 3, Nistula Nagarajan 3, Dale Ann Rego 2 and Misbah Fatimah 2) beat the Millennium School Dubai 31 (Shreya Vivek Munge 14, Amritha Leo 10, J. Poorna Sindhu 5 and Shwetha Krishnakumar 2).

U-13 Boys' playoff finals: Gee Tech-Dubai: 60 (Atik 24, Safar 12, Sayooj 16, Bhavya 4, Bharath 2, Dean 2) beat Dubai Modern High School: 30 (Varun 10, Shorey 8, Pritvi 4, Nikhil 4, Kevin 4).