Classifieds powered by Gulf News

2018: When the clock strikes midnight across the world

Some of these cities, from 2pm (UAE time), have varying New Year times extending up to tomorrow

Image Credit: AP
United Kingdom: Fireworks explode over the London Eye in central London, as part of the New Year celebrations

Here are a few countries that are celebrating New Year differently, some going well into our January 1st.

Global Village will have seven fireworks tonight corresponding to midnight celebrations in 7 different countries.

Note: These times are based on UAE time on December 31, 2017 and January 1, 2018. Also note that this list only features major cities and countries.

December 31

2pm: Samoa


A post shared by MEI_CINDY (@meihan_huang) on

3pm: Auckland, New Zealand

5pm: Melbourne, Sydney (Australia)

Sydney Australia

7pm: Japan, South Korea

7.30pm: North Korea

8pm: China, Philippines

9pm: Indonesia, Thailand

10.30pm: India, Sri Lanka

11pm: Pakistan

New Year celebrations in the UAE kick off at 12am!

January 1

1am: Moscow, Russia and Istanbul, Turkey

4am: London, United Kingdom

6am: Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

9am: New York, USA

12pm: Los Angeles, USA