Classifieds powered by Gulf News

UAE can aim for 2015 cricket World Cup

UAE had recently won the ICC's World Cricket League Division Two championship and is a strong contender, along with rising nations like Ireland and Afghanistan for a place in the 2015 World Cup

Gulf News

Dubai: UAE can now look forward to playing in the International Cricket Council (ICC) 2015 Cricket World Cup. The ICC has corrected their worst decision in recent years of banning Associate countries from participating in the World Cup and confining it to just 10 full member nations.

The ICC annual conference being held in Hong Kong has decided that the 2015 World Cup to be held in Australia and New Zealand will comprise of 14 teams that will include four slots for the associate countries.

Speaking to Gulf News from Hong Kong, Mazhar Khan, the administrator of the Emirates Cricket Board, said: "It is indeed great to be one among the nations to be in contention for the 2015 World Cup."

Strong contender

UAE had recently won the ICC's World Cricket League Division Two championship and is a strong contender, along with rising nations like Ireland and Afghanistan for a place in the 2015 World Cup.

"UAE will look forward to the qualifications and this decision is a sigh of relief for all Associate and even Affiliate members," added Khan. The historic decision was taken on the third day of the ICC's annual conference after the cricket body had come under scathing criticism from the associate and affiliate member countries to keep them out of the World Cup.

Twenty World Cup

It was also decided that the number of teams to take part in the Twenty World Cup to be held in Sri Lanka next year and in Bangladesh in 2014 be reduced to 12 teams. Earlier it was decided that 16 teams will take part in the Twenty20 World Cup.

The decision is also a big boost for Ireland who had shocked England in the 2011 World Cup. The ICC Chief Executive committee had recommended to the executive board that a qualifying tournament for the 2015 World Cup should be held to decide on the teams to play in the World Cup.

According to information, the associate member managed to overthrow the decision to make the 2015 World Cup a ten-team event, as part of a deal to support the scrapping of rotation policy in the appointment of the ICC President.

The scrapping of the rotation policy would result in Pakistan and Bangladesh candidates not getting the chance to hold the highest post in world cricket. In fact, Pakistan and Bangladesh, as per the rotation policy, were to nominate the next candidate for the president and vice president posts.

To pass the resolution, the ICC needed eight of the ten full members and 38 of the 50 Associate member countries to vote in favour of the motion. With the Associate countries now being pacified there are chances that this motion may now be passed.

Meanwhile, the Executive Board has confirmed that the Reliance ICC Rankings are suitable for use in determining qualification for ICC global events.

The Board confirmed that the ICC Cricket World Cup in 2019 would be a 10-team event with the top eight in the Reliance ICC rankings earning their qualification automatically with the remaining two places being decided by a qualification competition. The Board also confirmed the introduction of the promotion/relegation system previously agreed.

Other decisions:

• The Board accepted that there should be no use of DRS in Twenty20 Internationals.

• The Board agreed with the CEC and Cricket Committee that a Twenty20 International rankings table should be created from 1 October 2011

• Further research should be conducted on the balls to be used in day/night Test cricket.

• Approved use of new balls at each end which will help bowlers to get the ball swing for longer periods.

• Batsmen should be dismissed (obstructing the field) if they change their course while running to prevent a run-out chance

• Bowlers will be allowed to run out a non-striker who is backing up unfairly, a rule that has not been in force in recent times.

• The prohibition of the use of runners in all forms of international cricket.