Classifieds powered by Gulf News

Mursi’s first government named

Cabinet comprises many technocrats, four Islamists; Tantawi keeps defence portfolio

Image Credit: EPA
Prime Minister HeshamQandil speaks duringa press conference inCairo yesterday. Egyptofficially unveiled its newgovernment yesterday.The cabinet includes atleast five ministers fromthe previous cabinet andcomprises 16 newcomers,including an interiorminister.
Gulf News

Cairo: Egypt’s new government, comprising four Islamists, was officially named on Thursday, becoming the country’s first since Islamist President Mohammad Mursi took office more than a month ago.

Led by Hesham Qandil, the 35-member cabinet is mostly made up of technocrats. It comprises 28 newcomers, including Maj Gen Ahmad Jamal Al Deen as interior minister; Ahmad Mekki as justice minister; Abdul Qawai Khalifa as minister of the newly-created portfolio of drinking water and sanitary drainage; and Hesham Zazou as minister of tourism. Talaat Afifi, an ex-professor at Al Azhar University was named the minister of Waqfs (religious endowments). Former prime minister Kamal Al Ganzouri has been appointed as his advisor.

Meanwhile, ministers of foreign affairs, finance, military production, scientific research, social insurance, the environment and antiquities in the pervious government of Al Ganzouri, have kept their posts in the new cabinet.

Field Marshal Hussain Tantawi, the head of the Supreme Council of the Armed Forces (SCAF) has also remained defence minister, a post he has held since 1991. SCAF ruled Egypt for 16 months after a popular revolt forced Hosni Mubarak out of power in February last year.

Mursi’s Muslim Brotherhood has secured four ministries in the new cabinet. Mustafa Musad, who was responsible for education in Mursi’s presidential campaign, was appointed as minister of higher education.

The housing portfolio, meanwhile, went to Tareq Wafiq, the head of the housing committee in the Brotherhood’s Freedom and Justice Party (FJP), headed by Mursi before becoming a president. Usama Yassin, a senior FJP official was named minister of youth Salah Abdul Maqsud, a journalist and a member of the Muslim Brotherhood, was named minister of information. Abdul Maqsoud has replaced in the post Ahmad Anis, a former army general.

Qandil told a press conference he had yet to pick holders of the civil aviation ministry and the newly created ministry of sports before Mursi was to swear in the new cabinet later in the day.

“This is the government of the people, not a certain political trend,” Qandil said, dispelling rumours that the powerful Brotherhood influenced his pickings. “The only criterion for selecting ministers was competence,” he added.

The new cabinet sees the reinstatement of the investment ministry, signalling Egypt’s eagerness to attract foreign investment to rejuvenate its economy battered by turmoil that followed the revolt against Mubarak.

Qandil, previously a little-known technocrat, has pledged that his government would work to fulfil Mursi’s electoral programme, known as “renaissance” to solve the country’s key socio-economic problems.

Qandil, 50, has served as an irrigation minister in the past 12 months. He is Egypt’s youngest premier in five decades.

The ultra-conservative Salafist Al Nour Party has said it has decided to boycott the new government because Qandil “ignored” to engage the party in his consultations to form the cabinet. Al Nour won 26 per cent of the parliamentary seats in elections this year, coming second to the Muslim Brotherhood.


Who is who in the new cabinet

Prime Minister Hesham Qandil

Defence Minister Hussain Tantawi (retained)

Interior Minister Ahmad Jamal Al Deen

Minister of Foreign Affairs Mohammad Kamel Amr (retained)

Information Minister Salah Abdul Maqsud

Housing Minister Tareq Wafiq

Minister of Higher Education Mustafa Musad

Minister of Education Ebrahim Goneim

Minister of State for Antiquities Mohammad Ebrahim (retained)

Minister of Tourism Hesham Zazou

Minister of Finance Mumtaz Saeed (retained)

Minister of State for Scientific Research Nadia Zakhari (retained)

Minister of Social Insurance Najwa Khalil (retained)

Minister of Justice Ahmad Mekki

Minister of Investment Usama Saleh

Minister of Electricity Mahmoud Balbaa

Minister of Telecommunications Hani Mahmoud

Minister of Irrigation Mohammad Baha Al Deen

Minister of Agriculture Salah Abdul Moamen

Minister of Transport Mahmoud Al Mateen

Minister of Culture Mohammad Saber Arab

Minister of Waqfs Talaat Afifi,

Minister of State for Local Development Ahmad Zaki Abdin

Minister of Parliamentary Affairs Mohammad Mahsoub

Minister of Supply and Home Trade Abu Zeid Mohammad

Minister of International Cooperation Ashraf Al Arabi

Minister of Trade and Industry Hatem Saleh

Minister of Health Mohammad Hamed

Minister of Drinking Water and Sanitary Drainage Abdul Qawi Khalifa

Minister of Oil Usama Kamel

Minister of State for Environment Mustafa Hussain Kamel (retained)

Minister of Manpower Khalid Al Azhari

Minister of State for Youth Usama Yassin